After a long wait and with great joy for the return of the historic guitarist John Frusciante, Californians Red Hot Chili Peppers finally presented their twelfth studio album. A mixture of new sounds with a bit of recycling, to satisfy the new and the nostalgic.

‘Unlimited Love’ is the title of their new piece, a collection of 17 funk-based songs -the group’s main characteristic-, with heavy mixes, some reggae arrangements, and a lot of classic sound.

The brand new release comes just one day after RHCP, who have been together for forty years, were given their own star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Not a minor fact about the new album is that it was produced by Rick Rubin, who worked with them on Blood Sugar Sex Magik (1991), Californication (1999), By The Way (2002) and Stadium Arcadium (2006). That is to say, maker of great successes, to whom the band presented more than 50 songs to develop in this new stage.

On the new release, Anthony Kiedis, vocalist and leader of the group, said: “Our only goal is to lose ourselves in the music. We, John, Anthony, Chad and Flea, spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and supporting each other to make the best album we could. Our antennas tuned to the divine cosmos, we were so damn grateful for the chance to be in a room together and once again try to improve. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, freely improvising and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us spellbound.”

Here we leave a playlist for you to enjoy each of the tracks that make up the new album: